Children's Firearm Classes
Stoneridge Tactical Academy has classes for all ages of children from 8 years old through 17 years of age. Children need the same education in firearms that adults require. We have created several classes for kids from beginning firearm safety with emphasis on safety discussions all the way through shooting and tactical classes. Whatever your idea is for your child, we can accommodate you.
Kid's Gun Safety Classes
At Stoneridge, we have certified firearms instructors that know what kids like! The primary cause of children misusing firearms is the mystique surrounding firearms, parents sheltering children from learning about firearms, and the children's resulting unfamiliarity with firearms. We have learned to safely remove the mystery from this subject which allows children of all ages to become familiar with and be able to put firearms in perspective as a "tool" rather than an unapproachable, mysterious thing that they are never to handle. Handguns as well as rifles will be discussed and handled. Certificates of Course Completion will be issued to all students. This class satisfies ORS 166.291(1)(f)(c) for Concealed Handgun Certification. For an additional $25, even accompanying parents of each child may elect to obtain their own certification of completion to be used to satisfy the Oregon State requirement for Oregon CHL licensure. This means that children may save their certificate until they are of the age of consent and apply for their concealed handgun license with this certificate. For an additional $25, Interested parents may also receive a certificate for Oregon Concealed Handgun for attending.
Children must be accompanied by an adult.
NEXT AVAILABLE CHILDREN'S GUN SAFETY CLASS:
(NOTE: This is a "Beginner NO SHOOT" class designed especially for kids 8-17 years of age. Perfect for parents that want their kids to learn from an NRA-Certified Firearms Instructor
DATE: SAT DEC 15
TIME: 10:00 AM - 3 Hours (One parent must attend with the child)
LOCATION: 411 N. FRONT ST - CENTRAL POINT
A certificate that satisfies Oregon Revised Statute 166.291(1)(f)(c) for Oregon CHL will be given to each child and each paid adult chaperone
Signup For Children's Gun Safety Class
CLASS TITLE: Children's Live-Fire Shooting Class
CLASS COST: $40
Our kid's shooting classes are taught by NRA-Certified Handgun Instructors and Nationally-Certified Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors. Shooting exercises will be overseen and monitored by a Certified Range Safety Officer. This gives children the perfect opportunity to learn to shoot in safe venues with certified instructors where safety is paramount. This class is perfect for children that already have a firm foundation of basic handgun safety principles in theory and action at home. In this class, located at the JCSA Gun Range's Indoor Range, kids will learn to shoot 22 caliber handguns and rifles. This kid's shooting class is 4 hours in length and include classroom safety instruction and review as well as live-fire range time. By the end of the class, children will shoot safer and more accurately, while maintaining handgun safety while handling, manipulating, and firing their handgun. The instructor will have several firearms for the children to try as well. Parents of students must bring a handgun for their children to use during the class. Ammunition is not included (parents will need to provide ammo for their child - "Shooting Certificates of Course Completion" will be awarded to all attendees.
NEXT CLASS: NO CLASSES CURRENTLY SCHEDULED
COST: $40 (plus $7.00 "non-member" shooter fee)
WHAT YOU NEED TO BRING:
-Firearm (handgun or rifle is acceptable)
-At least 100 rounds of ammunition
-Hat or baseball cap
-Ear or hearing protection
-Closed-toe shoes (no sandals or flip-flops)
-Long pants (no shorts will be allowed)
-Non-Member Shooter Fee of $7.00 Cash (paid to JCSA office)
A certificate that satisfies Oregon Revised Statute 166.291(1)(f)(c) for Oregon CHL will be given to each child.
DO NOT MAKE DEPOSITS HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE A SCHEDULED CLASS