Low Light Handgun Skills

2020-SF-Blowers-Pistol-Low-Light-Course_Featured-scaled.jpg
LOW LIGHT HANDGUN - (CO-ED, 4 hours) - $150

This is a 4-hour, all-range-time, live-fire course.  This class is an introductory look at low light defensive carry skill development, methods, techniques, options, light choices, styles, and operating techniques that prove to be beneficial for 70% of defensive shooting incidents nationwide.  Designed for the shooter with fundamental knowledge of concealed carry methods and drawing techniques who wish to add night or subdued light training to their skill set.  You must have taken our Beginning Handgun  and Defense Carry Fundamentals classes or its equivalent, and be able to demonstrate solid handgun safety fundamentals.  Open to men and women 14 and older.  No concealed handgun license is required for this course.  Candidates will learn basic flashlight and gun-mounted light techniques with an emphasis on target recognition, movement, lighting techniques, and the "2 is 1, 1 is none" principle, cover and concealment in subdued light conditions, elevation changes that can save your life, along with the building of muscle-memory which will be utilized at length and in-depth when involved in a critical incident defense shooting in subdued light.  Upon completing this course, candidates will have an advanced knowledge of the requirements and techniques for carrying in low light conditions.

Certificates of course completion will be awarded. Completion certificates satisfy ORS 166.291 for Oregon Concealed Carry.

Course Contents:

Safety Briefing
Review of 5 Fundamentals of Shooting
Review of 5-Point Drawing Techniques

Light Types and Benefits 

How to Properly Use Lights

2 is 1, 1 is None
Firearm Retention Issues
Administrative, Emergency & Tactical Reloads in Subdued Light
Advanced Malfunction Clearance Techniques

Low Light Firing Drills

Target Recognition Drills

What to Bring:
  • Hat (brimmed, baseball, boonie, etc.)

  • At least 50 - 100 rounds of ammunition (no hand loads/reloads)

  • Extra magazines or speed loaders

  • Firearm (Your own is preferred - .380 cal or larger)

  • Concealed holster or concealed carry purse

  • Weather-dependent clothing (jacket, sweatshirt, etc)

  • Snacks and drinks

  • Eye and ear protection (Electronic is preferred)

  • Long pants

  • Closed toed shoes

INSTRUCTORS - David Cunningham and Elizabeth Cunningham

HALF-DAY CLASS COST: $150
Deposit of $75.00 required to reserve your seat 
click the "BUY NOW" button to pay your deposit!

Some ranges we use require payment of park entry fees for non-member shooters.  You are responsible for park entry fees.  We recommend purchasing memberships at the range if you plan on being an avid shooter.

 

All handgun classes taught through Stoneridge Tactical have been designed, built, and developed in accordance with the National Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors Association, the NRA, and NRA Law Enforcement Division Instructor training practices and guidelines by Stoneridge Tactical, David Cunningham, and Liz Cunningham, NLEFIA Advanced Firearms Instructor, NRA Instructors, NRA LE Division "Handgun" and  "Patrol Rifle" instructors, and satisfy Oregon's requirement for "Concealed Handgun Certification" per ORS 166.291.

Prepayment is required to enroll and participate in this class.  If you are committed and have the time, this shouldn't be a problem for you.  Click the PayPal button below and pay for the class.  You don't even have to have a PayPal account.  You may pay with credit or debit!  Your card will be charged real-time and you will receive a payment receipt at the email address you provide during checkout.  By making your payment for the class, you understand and are agreeing to our REFUND POLICY.  You should be committed to attending as prepayments are nonrefundable and non transferable to another class.  Live fire classes are not available to those women who are pregnant.  If you prepay for these courses and cannot attend due to pregnancy, there are no refunds or transfers of any kind.  If you or a person in your party cancels for any reason, they forfeit their deposit.  Forfeited deposits cannot be used to bring in another student in their place.  Check the class schedule for our upcoming classes.

Make Your Deposit Here