top of page

Kid's/Youth Handgun 101 Shooting Class

kids4--live-fire-rev2 sml.jpg
RANGE-TIME "LIVE-FIRE" CLASS
THE BEST OPTION

CLASS TITLE: KID'S LIVE-FIRE HANDGUN 

CLASS COST: $100

TIME: 9:00 AM TO 1:00 PM

Our "real-range-time 5-hour class is taught by NRA-Certified Advanced Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors.  The experience of all the exhileration and fun of noise, power, recoil, and outdoor targets that your young shooter will love, and with full professional supervision by advanced law enforcement and NRA firearms instructors!  

Shooting exercises will be overseen and monitored by a Certified Chief Range Safety Officer.  This gives children the perfect opportunity to learn to shoot in an outdoor venue with professional instructors where safety is paramount.  This class is great for the beginning shooter or the child that already has a firm foundation of basic handgun safety principles in theory and action taught at home.

The Stoneridge range is in rural Eagle Point.

This course is identical to any outdoor range course for adults with the exception of the special care required for younger shooters.  This course is great for students that have a higher-tolerance level to noise and regular lethal live fire.  By the end of the class, your child will be empowered, shoot safer, and more accurately, while maintaining handgun safety as they learn to handle, manipulate, load, unload, and fire their handgun.  We also rent handguns for this class at a cost of $25.

WHAT THEY'LL LEARN:
Safety Brief
Operation of Semi Auto and Revolver
Nomenclature and Gun Parts
Ammunition Discussion
How To Make a Handgun Safe for Handling
Range Etiquette
Practical Familiarity and Handling Exercises
How to fill semi-automatic magazines

Hold Control

Aiming, Sight Alignment and Sight Picture

Trigger Control
Breath Control

Basic Shooting Stances

Follow Through Techniques
Live-Fire Training from A to Z

Targeting and Correction
Proper Loading and Unloading of a Firearm
Graduation and Certificates

Parents of students are required to bring a handgun for their children to use during the course unless they are renting a firearm from us.  Parents are required to supply their young shooter with 50 rounds of ammunition for their firearm or 9 mm target ammunition if renting a gun.  Please make sure all firearms and magazines you bring are completely unloaded prior to entering the building.  Do not fill magazines in order to make it easier for the shooter.  All live ammo should remain in the box it came in.

"Shooting Certificates of Course Completion" will be awarded to all attendees.  "Parent-Certificates" not available in this course.  The certificate awarded in this class satisfies ORS 166.291 for Oregon concealed carry license when they turn 21, if they choose to apply.  These certificates NEVER expire.

A certificate that satisfies Oregon Revised Statute 166.291(1)(f)(c) for Oregon CHL will be given to each child.  Parents can hold the certificate until the child is able to apply for their own concealed handgun license.  These certificates NEVER expire.

***Lifetime certification

When making prepayment, it is not important to select a timeslot here.  You should have already made that selection when you signed up.  Registration for the class and payment are two different things.  If you have not signed up, do that here!

All handgun classes taught through Stoneridge Tactical have been designed, built, and developed in accordance with the National Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors Association, the NRA, and NRA Law Enforcement Division Instructor training practices and guidelines by Stoneridge Tactical, David Cunningham, and Liz Cunningham, NLEFIA Advanced Firearms Instructor, NRA Instructors, NRA LE Division "Handgun" and  "Patrol Rifle" instructors, and satisfy Oregon's requirement for "Concealed Handgun Certification" per ORS 166.291.

Prepayment is required to enroll and participate in this class.  If you are committed and have the time, this shouldn't be a problem for you.  Click the PayPal button below and pay for the class.  You don't even have to have a PayPal account.  You may pay with credit or debit!  Your card will be charged real-time and you will receive a payment receipt at the email address you provide during checkout.  By making your payment for the class, you understand and are agreeing to our REFUND POLICY.  You should be committed to attending as prepayments are nonrefundable and non transferable to another class.  Live fire classes are not available to those women who are pregnant.  If you prepay for these courses and cannot attend due to pregnancy, there are no refunds or transfers of any kind.  If you or a person in your party cancels for any reason, they forfeit their deposit.  Forfeited deposits cannot be used to bring in another student in their place.  Check the class schedule for our upcoming classes.

WARNING!

Please do not make a payment unless you have received an email to do so.

 

You MUST use the

Signup Form

to get your names on the roster before you will get that email!

bottom of page